Running on empty…

Managed a couple of nights down on Daisy G. Sunny and warm, but wind, wind, wind. It blew F4-F6 all three days, without let up even at night. From the west,  which means there is hardly any real shelter, although I tried off Furzey Island, Arne Peninsula and even Goathorn Peninsula, which I have never risked before. In all places, it is just too shallow. I was nearly trapped in all. 

I anchored each  night off Shipstal Point, which had the best shelter, but not perfect, so noisy all night. 

I committed an arch crime on the first day. Motoring up to Shipstal, the engine gave the rapid sigh and silence which means only one thing, no fuel. I had checked before I set off, but only a casual shake of the tank, which clearly had told me nothing. Two miles from home in a F5 wind and no engine. Fortunately, I was directly upwind of my marina, so I could sail back. The concern was getting through the moored boats and onto the pontoon without over or under shooting, or crashing into some innocent bystander. I played safe and just used the jib to sail back, but still made over 4kts sometimes, and well over 3kts all the time. By good luck the pontoon was empty and the wind was straight onto it. With a bit of careful playing with the sail, I managed a fairly professional looking landing. No audience, sadly. I now have lots of fuel on board. More than I’ll need for the rest of the season. 

One thought on “Running on empty…

Leave a Reply

